Changing the Subject

I really don’t want to get into the details of my day; it was scary. For updates on that, check mah Tweets.

I will say this, though: I have finally figured out what it means to be a grown-up. It’s not aging or graduating or moving out… it’s when you realize that you have to keep it together because all of a sudden, YOU are the one in charge and everyone is depending on you. And something just… clicks. It immediately (and seemingly automatically) becomes possible to face situations with an unnervingly calm demeanor and logic. There is no time to worry about yourself when your priority is to take care of everyone around you.

It’s nice to know. I’ve always wondered how some of my friends (mainly the parents) transformed from immature nutcases like myself into these superheroes who seem to handle everything effortlessly. I thought I was missing something. I get it now. As it turns out, sometimes you don’t really have a choice.

I was doing fine until about noon when my aunt appeared and woke me up by gently rubbing my back. All of a sudden, it was okay to be the baby of the family again and my face crumpled up instantly.

Tomorrow it’s back to this:

Okay hold up – a few observations upon re-watching that clip:

1. I vividly remember being terrified of those fish in the window.

2. One bite, dude? Really? I guess no one had mastered the art of cutting to an empty plate.

3. I still laugh my ass off at “Fran-CEEESS.”

Also since I like ending on happy stuff, I’ll tell you that I watched Intervention with Erin and Erin and we hung out til midnight and it was the most fun I’ve had in a while. The perfect new combination of people at the perfect time.

I was going to post a clip of Allison from Intervention “walking on sunshine” but I ended up watching all her clips and guiltily laughing and now I’m late to visit my dad. She’s worth googling, though. A thousand horrified LOLs.

3 Comments

Filed under Sam I Am

3 responses to “Changing the Subject

  1. kevvers

    prayers with you – and thx for pee wee. yeah, whats with the one bite of food – that looks effing delicious

  2. Janet

    PWBA is in my top 5 movies of all time. Ahh I love it.

    And Allison walking on sunshine is so amazing, I watch it weekly.

    3. kevvers left…
    Friday, 20 March 2009 10:33 am

  3. Pingback: Go Shortcake, It’s Your Birthday | Secretly Stephie

Leave a Reply

