One of Those

“There was a profound sadness inside Gilda. At the same time there was this boundless joy and energy. She fluctuated. It wasn’t like bipolar. She didn’t go on periods of horrible depression and then elation. They existed side by side. And sometimes she’d just disappear. She would just go away, and maybe that’s when she was sad.”

– Neil Levy on Gilda Radner, Live From New York

I went all day without smoking. It had less to do with quitting, and more to do with the fact that I had such a crazy week and I wanted to spend an entire day in my PJ pants. Success. It was such a gorgeous breezy day and I opened all the windows and lounged on the couch all day long. I read two whole books, ate toasted ravioli and finally watched The Pied Piper of Hützovina. Hooray!

I’ll run a bunch in the morning and we’ll see where that takes me. But for the next 10 hours: more PJ pants. I needed some sort of cocoon where I could hang out and be still before the next phase, whatever that is. My cocoon just happens to be covered in sock monkeys (or if I’m feeling really crazy, glow-in-the-dark sheep).

This has nothing to do with anything, but this clip is my favorite moment in the History of Everything. It’s days like today that I remember to look it up, watch it over and over, and smile about it a whole bunch:

1 Comment

Filed under Videos

One response to “One of Those

  1. Ray

    Steph,

    Your blog, as usual is sick and extremely well written. I used to read it all the time and then did a DIY repair on my computer, and ending up destroying it. Anyway, I will get back to stalking your blog.

    Hope things are well, I’ll try to find out my reading the last few months of blog posts.

Leave a Reply

