Thinking Of Them

I don’t know about you guys, but whenever someone I know has an illness or death in a family, I never think to send a card. It seems so small and trival compared to what they are going through. I always want to do something bigger but I usually can’t, so somehow I end up doing nothing at all.

Yesterday we were hanging out with my dad and discussing the possibility of him going back to the hospital temporarily today (which is what happened – this will be a good thing, I think). I glanced up at the mantle and saw all these cards. For a second I felt a little stronger and I finally got it.

2 Comments

Filed under Sam I Am

2 responses to “Thinking Of Them

  1. Courtney

    I’m always afraid that if they’ve managed to get if off their minds for a bit I will only remind them to be sad if I send a card or express sympathy. So true what you pointed out, though, how good it feels when someone does that for me during a time of hardship. I think my New Year’s resolution is going be to write and send cards for birthdays in the family, especially because we live out-of-town. Hope your pops is doing okay. Hang in there.

  2. You are so right; I’ve done that with co-workers before because they look so happy and put on such a brave face and I don’t want to ruin it. And then a week or two goes by and I don’t want to remind them of it.

    It’s weird that you left that comment because yesterday was the first time I have ever gotten sad when someone asked me about my dad. Usually I appreciate everyone’s concern but yesterday like 4 people asked me and it put me in this really foul mood. And it’s like, I would rather have people be concerned than not concerned so I just had to deal with that mood.

    It’s probably impossible to know when people need comfort and when they don’t, so I think that’s why most people including myself just avoid doing anything. But I’ve decided that mailing a card is probably the best thing and I’m going to try to do that from now on.

Leave a Reply

