I’m Sure I Wasn’t The First, But …

The Year Without and The Year Plus sound pretty close to this Lifehacker post, so I’ve decided to take full credit. You’re welcome, Lifehacker! You’re welcome, America!

Somewhat related, I’ve worked out 7 days in a row … for at least a half hour at a time, but usually an hour if you count hula-hooping. Easy peasy.

I’m thisclose to changing my religious views on Facebook to “BodyBugg”, because I’ve lost 5 pounds in 2-1/2 weeks! That’s 12.5% toward my goal! (I like to use the most impressive-sounding stats.) Greatest invention ever? I think totally.

2011 is going to be this year of huge changes in my life (living with my boyfriend, traveling for the first time in ages, new career goals, new hang out buddies, possible physical fitness, life without Dad) and it made me realize that my thirties are going to be completely different than my twenties, and it’s starting right away – a few weeks early, in fact. I thought I could ease into this stuff?

Anyway, I had a late-night panic attack about it and I took one Ativan. I don’t count that as a sleeping pill because I take one Ativan for rare panic attacks and two if I’m taking it to sleep.

It’s weird how I had said that the one resolution I would love to keep last year was figuring out how to sleep, but that would never happen so I’d try 12 other ones. Then out of the 12 resolutions, only one had a major lasting effect on me (and it was the no drinking one, for crying out loud), and then I managed to get a handle on my sleep habits out of nowhere. Next week will mark 5 months without prescription sleeping pills. I’ve only had trouble sleeping on two nights since then. I’m more proud of this than quitting smoking.

2011 is going to be interesting. I have no idea what’s going to happen. I’ve spent so much time and energy worrying about my dad, drinking beers, crushing on boys and pontificating about heartbreak that I’m sort of at a loss. How am I supposed to spend my braintime now? What do I do with my life? Who am I? WHAT IS HAPPENING?

2 Comments

Filed under The Year Plus

2 responses to “I’m Sure I Wasn’t The First, But …

  1. Kendra

    2011 braintime… focus on finding a work environment that makes you want to go to work, want to write, and most importantly improve yourself all around.
    The grass is probably greener on the other side!

  2. secretlystephie

    Ha, true!

Leave a Reply

