The Dave Painting

Last weekend, my work friends and I threw a surprise 30th birthday party for our friend Ben. 90% of the hilarity that ensued is based on inside jokes or Breaking Bad humor (homemade blue rock candy, anyone?), but I need to tell you about Dave’s painting.

Dave and his wife hosted the party in their gorgeous new house, and he mentioned some of the things that he found in the move. Many of my co-workers have known each other for at least a decade, so when he mentioned the painting they all cracked up. But since Justin, Liz and I are a little new to the party, he told us the story.

Dave had a cleaning lady who would sometimes buy him strange presents. “But she wouldn’t give them to me; she would just put them on my mantel or nightstand.” When he would ask her about them, she would just say, “Oh, I thought that would look nice there.”

“Then,” Dave said, “She just started rearranging my furniture? Like full rooms. Without asking.”

“And then I guess I left some pictures of me laying around? Old ones,” he continued. “And then one day, she said, ‘I painted this for you.'”

And then

she gave

him this:

DSCN5743

.
Did she sign it? No. She kissed the back:

DSCN5745
“AAAAAND that’s when I fired her.”

P.S. Look at Kim’s Bencakes!

DSCN5733

 

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “The Dave Painting

  1. That’s…that’s actually a way better painting than I could ever hope to produce. I would feel simultaneously creeped out and shamed if someone gave that to me.

Leave a Reply

