Fish Fry, Saturn Star-Gazing, and Grey Gardens

“This is the best thing to wear for today, you understand. Because I don’t like women in skirts and the best thing is to wear pantyhose or some pants under a short skirt, I think. Then you have the pants under the skirt and then you can pull the stockings up over the pants underneath the skirt. And you can always take off the skirt and use it as a cape. So I think this is the best costume for today.”

– Edie Beale, Grey Gardens

Last night the Fish Fry Club met at the church by my house, and while we were in the massive line, I experienced the unexpected.

“Would you like a beer while you wait?” I heard a woman softly ask, and I turned to see a bucket full of various AB cans.

“YES!” I shrieked, then more politely: “How much is it?”

“Free.”

“Mm’scuse me? What?”

My friends reached in to grab their cans, and as I cheerfully fished out a Bud Light, Justin kindly said, “Do you want me to drink that for you?”

I cradled my beer, confused. “What? No! Why?”

He reached out to rub my shoulder and I protectively turned to shield my precious. “Because it’s… March? Steph? You know?”

After a beat, I gasped in horror. “No. NO! Oh crap! What the hell! Why did I do that?”

Someone in the back of the group chuckled, “Is this your first Friday?”

“If you really want to drink it, you can… I was just trying to-”

“Ah! Oh God! Take it away from me! But don’t! But you have to! This is hurting my feelings!”

~~~*~~~

Aside from the realization that March will be harder than I thought, Fish Fry Club was fun. Karen’s favorite part of the experience is the kids who pick up your trays for you. “Trash Kids,” she would say knowingly every time they walked by.

The guy who gave us our fish was taaanked. The mac ‘n cheese was to die for. The church by my parents’ house has the best cod on the face of the earth, but this Fish Fry happens once a month, passes out free beer, and is across the street from where I live now. Fish Fry FTW! I will see you in April, free beer and Trash Kids.

After dinner, Justin and I hoped up Hampton to the archery fields next to the Planetarium, where the St. Louis Astronomical Society set up their telescopes. We saw Mars, Orion Nebula with all the gasses, and two views of Saturn and it’s rings. SOOO cool. If they’re ever doing this on a clear, warmish night, I highly recommend it. These guys will tell you everything you want to know (best view for Mars will be in 2014, and Jupiter will be back on the scene in a couple months). It’s worth the trip just to watch all the little kids wander around, totally awestruck.

Finally, we went back to his place to eat ice cream and watch Grey Gardens for the first time. If you don’t know what Grey Gardens is, then I can’t help you. But I’ve been watching clips ever since Bust published an Edie fashion spread a few years ago and the full documentary is beyond amazing.

5 Comments

Filed under Pop Goes The Culture, The Year Without

5 responses to “Fish Fry, Saturn Star-Gazing, and Grey Gardens

  1. Erin

    As a former South City Catholic school kid with service project hours to achieve, I was once a Trash Kid. The people who run those fish frys are like running a Michelin-starred restaurant or something. That’s how serious it gets.
    Also, I watched Grey Gardens when I was hungover last weekend. It’s sad that she never found a Libra man.

  2. janternet

    “Trash Kids,” she would say knowingly every time they walked by.

    that makes me want to hop a plane to STL like RIGHT NOW

  3. secretlystephie

    It was very Karen, and very wonderful. She does it every weekend! You still have time!!

  4. Jess

    tell me more about this planet-arium thing… is it free? it is every weekend or only certain weekends? do they have a website? that’s so awesome… i must go and take child. i was waaaay into astronomy as a kid. my parents got me a telescope when i was ten or something. yeah. i was the kid with a microscope AND a telescope.

  5. secretlystephie

    It happens once a month! There’s probably a website; I’ll ask Justin.

Leave a Reply

